THE UK Model Shop Directory src-failed spider
THE British Railway Modelling Directory on the Internet.
Link to our Sponsor
Bringing you the BEST Offers on the Net -
SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL MODEL SHOP -

How good is your Local Model Shop?
Would you recommend them to your fellow hobbyists?
If you would then why not add a review wherever you see the
YELLOW or GREEN RateIt buttons
Support Your Local Model Shop  Support Your Local Model Shop

Whitchurch Models
I went in looking for some fine wire mesh; the shop owner couldn't provide any but suggested using either a tea-Strainer or some doped net curtain instead - Practical suggestions. While I was in another customer phoned looking for Hornby track but couldn't get there until after the official closing time; not a problem as the owner was happy to stay open for them. Range-Wise,it's primarily radio-Controlled aircraft, but with general modelling bits as well.
Alf, Northwich - 21 Mar 2020 - Four Stars

Something Wicked Models
Was there on Saturday (14-3-20) following Airfix's advice to use the virus to model. This is a rare survival of a small traditional local shop with a good OO/HO railway selection and a good selection of plastic kits. The staff are always friendly and well informed, I believe they manufacture Knightwing models so they really do know what they are talking about. They are supportive of young modellers (I had my son with me). Shop is physically small but every nook and cranny has something. I parked in Sainsbury's you get two hours free parking and it is useful to stock up with a bottle of wine. One of my favourite shops and well worth the 30 mile journey!
Jonathan, Sheffield - 18 Mar 2020 - Five Stars

Caistor Loco
What a fabulous model shop set in the main square of Caistor in the beautiful Lincolnshire Wolds. I visited the shop on 6 March 2020 and the gentlemen in the shop was very welcoming and friendly inviting me to have a good rummage. Do not be put off by the size of the shop from the outside because once you walk through the door you will see it is an Alladin's cave inside a Tardis! The range of items is incredible from Kadee couplings through Hornby, Dapol and Bachmann locos, wagons and coaches to Springside loco lamps. A real bonus is free parking right outside. I shall definitely be going again.
Julian, Hythe Kent Ct21 - 17 Mar 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Sawyer Models
I'm a diecast collector and as such unless I go Online I am limited in where I can purchase items for my collection(S). Although this shop is primarily a 'trains' shop, Steve is quite happy to look for and order anything die cast I ask him for. If you just want a chat, he's happy to do that as well! A friendly bloke,who knows his stuff. What more can you ask for? As a bonus his prices are very keen too,.a damn sight cheaper than buying on e.bay for instance. This sort of shop is hard to find these days. Totally recommended! Chris
Chris, Wigan - 13 Mar 2020 - Five Stars

Spot-On Models & Games
For the last couple of years I have visited this shop and always find something to buy, it was a load of bargain trees last time, but you never know what you might find. This shop is well worth a look if you are in Swindon.
David, Barnet - 13 Mar 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Church Street Models
A lot of stock crammed into small premises. Worth spending time looking through the displays. Proprietor friendly and helpful, even when busy you're not made to feel unwelcome. I enjoy a visit here while family members shop in nearby mall!
David, Wokingham - 09 Mar 2020 - Three & a half Stars

The Model Railway Shop
I visited yesterday with my daughter and was given an honest and fair price for some railway items I was selling. Martin and I had an enjoyable conversation and I valued his approach, he is a gentleman. Please support this model shop you will not be disappointed, it has a great range of stock. Thank you.
Daniel, Leeds, England - 08 Mar 2020 - Five Stars

Derails Models
Absolutely fantastic service, all other retailers were sold out of a model of 37800, except derails, I pre ordered it Monday, paid Tuesday and it arrived with free postage on Wednesday, fully tested. Fantastic and personal service.
Ben, Milton Keynes - 04 Mar 2020 - Five Stars

Granary Models
Great shop. Very friendly. Happy to browse. Plenty on offer with a good selection of models that I was looking for. Bought quite a few items. Mary, Thank you.
Shaun, Stamford - 18 Feb 2020 - Four Stars

Hatton's Model Railways Ltd
Flying Scotsman was on the Wishlist. Following an email I purchased a TTS DCC Flying Scotsman at an excellent price, the model arrived earlier than expected ran well on the club layout straight out of the box with all functions accessed.
Peter, Swadlincote - 10 Feb 2020 - Three & a half Stars

Hatton's Model Railways Ltd
Found Hattons staff very helpful. Would highly recommend them.they were willing to offer me various ways for payment as I don't like personal trading on the internet.
Lee, Perth Western Australia. - 10 Feb 2020 - Three & a half Stars

Upstairs Downstairs
Visited this shop while on the Isle of Wight, a very well stocked shop with friendly and helpful staff willing to spend time with you. Shop is well laid out and surprising when you walk in. Will pay a visit when on the Isle of Wight when there again Wish there was more shops like this around
Keith, Windsor, Berkshire - 08 Feb 2020 - Four & a half Stars

B J Model Railways
Great local model shop. Stockists of all major brands. Has pretty much everything you need for railway modelling. Also has a good selection of second-Hand locomotives and rolling stock.
Martin, King's Lynn - 07 Feb 2020 - Four Stars

Our Place
Excellent place to shop ,very help full and always willing to give advice.Have clearance items from time to time at good prices.I would recommend this little shop to any anyone.
Paul, Redditch - 03 Feb 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Tony's Trains of Rugby (Formerly Barby Model Rail)
Excellent shop with wide range of stock in all main gauges. Very good prices and a really friendly and knowledgeable owner. Not my nearest model shop but it's worth travelling to for the fantastic range and service.
Rich, Leicester - 02 Feb 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Baz's Model Rail
Great little shop with a knowledgeable owner very helpful. Parking could be a problem easy to get to just off the A45 near Birmingham airport
John, Coventry - 22 Jan 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Geoffrey Allison Railways
Further to the review I wrote three years ago, I am delighted to report that this shop still exists. If you are into OO gauge model railways, I would describe it as jam-Packed with stuff you might be looking for. They do keep items in other scales too, but OO predominates. I called in on 18th January 2020 as I was after a long-Discontinued N gauge item. It wasn't on the shelves, but the people there obligingly searched through the storerooms upstairs before concluding that regrettably they couldn't help me this time. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for them. Even though I didn't spend any money on this occasion, they were really friendly and chatty during my entire visit. This is a shop where they won't try to foist on you what they've got rather than what you want. Good friendly service like this is something you don't come across every day. I'll be back . Again!
Robin, Southwell, Notts. - 20 Jan 2020 - Four Stars

Compass Miniature Railways & Models
I popped into this new shop on Saturday 17th on my way back from a successful visit to Classic Rail at Ticehurst. The owners were freindly and there was a fair amount of secondhand stock: Mostly OO. The husband apparently makes 5.5 inch gauge trains and was urged to start the shop by firends after the sad demise the the Hobby Box in Uckfield. Rotherfield is narrow little village so do not bank on parking right outside the shop.
Jeffrey, Horley - 19 Jan 2020 - Three & a half Stars

Osborn's Models
Easy to order website orders arrive within an acceptable time, and if there are any queries they are always delt with quickly and efficiently. Thank you.
John, Bishops Stortford - 15 Jan 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Model Railway Solutions Limited
This shop has expanded in the last year. Huge range of model railway items and now stocks plastic kits and plenty of scratch building plastic and metal material. Good range of paints as well. Good prices. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Richard, Weymouth - 11 Jan 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Harburn Hobbies
Visit this shop only on cruise ship stopovers or in December 2019 whilst spending Christmas in Edinburgh and Harburn's were only 300-400 yards from my hotel and about the same distance from York Place Tram Terminus. It is an amazing delightful 'Aladdin's Cave' of a shop containing something that you want and often something you never realised that you wanted! The shop management team are very friendly, helpful and love a good chat. Thoroughly recommended and I will revisit them on my next cruise ship stopover in September 2020.
Dave, Stowmarket - 10 Jan 2020 - Five Stars

The Signal Box
A great little store. Has a large selection of N and OO gauge trains, rolling stock, track, and accessories. Store is very cosy, so would not recommend trying to take a stroller or wheelchair etc on in
William, Melton Mowbray - 10 Jan 2020 - Four Stars

Wellingborough Trains and Models
Great shop.Owner stayed open later so I could get there on New Year's eve. Very reasonable price for exactly what I wanted.Knowledgable and helpful owner. Will definitely be returning.
Paul, Nuneaton, Warwickshire - 01 Jan 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Curio Collectors Emporium
Excellent friendly service. Good prices and helpful attitude. Very willing to offer assistance in ordering stock in. Worthy venture that deserves to succeed. Will be back.
David, Uk - 28 Dec 2019 - Four & a half Stars

Carnforth Models
Lived in Lancaster for an number of year, retired to the highlands of Scotland, walked into this shop what a gem! Got some great advice and help Will return I have my eye on on a new buy and a second hand buy. Had a good chat and have a connection with Nethybridge I will return Peter
Peter, Grantown On Spey - 19 Dec 2019 - Four & a half Stars

Please note: All the usual rules for reviews apply and, before appearing here, your submission will be reviewed by us first. Webmasters decision is final.

COPYRIGHT INFO and FEEDBACK
As we hope you can appreciate we cannot visit every Shop and Supplier in the country. So your help and assistance is always greatly appreciated.
Alas, sometimes shops do close and we are invariably not informed, so it is always best to ring ahead if you are planning to make a special journey. If you do find a shop listed that is closed, please let us know to help others.
You can submit information on the forms that are on the following pages of the website;
Events, Clubs, Layouts, Information and a General Enquiries form for everything else.
Also, if you know of any Supplier or Retailer that isn't listed, why not let us know. Fellow modellers will surely benefit.
All material on this website is Copyright © UKModelshops.co.uk
The use of text and images from this site without permission is prohibited.
If you see any of our content used on other sites that do not credit this Directory then you can be assured it has been copied without our consent.
If you want to use any of our content, please ask!
All Rights Reserved.
Cookie Policy: Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.
Member of The Internet Content Rating Association  Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!